Information

  • Visual arts
    • Tuesday, 1 September 2020, 08:00 to Friday, 2 October 2020, 18:00

Prices

  1. Free virtual visit

Take a virtual tour of the exhibition
Exhibition: 1st September - 2nd October 2020


Momar Seck is an award-winning visual artist, painter and sculptor, who, among the many awards he has received, was the recipient of the UNESCO Award for Promotional Visual Art in 2004. Hailing from Senegal, he trained at the National School of Arts in Dakar (1994) before pursuing a fellowship with the Swiss Federal Office for Culture (1996). He graduated from the Ecole Normale Supérieure d’Education Artistique in Dakar and the School of Fine Arts in Geneva, and completed his PhD in Fine Arts from the University of Strasbourg in 2012. He is a teacher and the head of visual arts at La Grande Boissière campus of the Ecole Internationale de Genève. 
 
Momar Seck uses painting and sculpture as his chosen mediums, focusing on recycled elements such as wood, plastic, tin and fabric found on the streets of Dakar. His work is not simply the search for beauty or cheerfulness, but an involvement in society, a way for him to contribute as a citizen to the evolution of society and in the preservation of the environment. 

The singular diversity of each of his creations works as a metaphor for the intrinsic diversity of the world and humanity. His ''pluralistic units'', as he calls them, display textures and colours, and the blend of materials symbolises the fragile interdependent unity between different cultures and cosmologies. Momar Seck's use of recovered materials and their reuse comply with his views of the ''artist as a contributing citizen'' in the ongoing campaign to recycle, protect and preserve the environment and wildlife. His works seek to immerse viewers in the realities of everyday life, including waste and debris, while summoning up memories and traces of their origin, as well as their metamorphosis. They reflect our current existence, enhanced by the character, enjoyment and re-creation of discarded objects. Common themes found in his art often address societal issues such as consumerism, global communication and the environment. 
 
Momar Seck's work has been exhibited in Switzerland, Senegal, Mali, Cameroon, France, Belgium, Italy, Cuba, Canada, Tanzania, the United States, Germany, the United Kingdom and Nigeria. He has also regularly participated in Dak'Art (Senegal), the Havana Biennale (Cuba) and the International Symposium of Art in Baie Saint Paul in Quebec.  

"Environnement 20" is part of the exhibition "Art for Social Impact 2020: Languages and Shapes of Michelangelo Pistoletto’s Third Paradise".

Upcoming Events

Download season programme
Subscribe to our newsletter

Information

  • Arts visuels
    • Mardi, 1 septembre 2020, 08:00 à Vendredi, 2 October 2020, 18:00

Prix

  1. Visite virtuelle gratuite

Une exposition à découvrir prochainement en ligne.
Exposition : 1er septembre - 2 octobre 2020


Momar Seck est un artiste peintre et sculpteur primé, lauréat en 2004 du Prix de l'UNESCO pour la promotion des arts visuels, entre autres. Originaire du Sénégal, il a suivi une formation à l'École nationale des arts de Dakar (1994) avant d'obtenir une bourse de l'Office fédéral suisse de la culture (1996). Il est diplômé de l'École normale supérieure d'éducation artistique de Dakar et de la Haute école d’art et design (HEAD) de Genève, et a obtenu son doctorat en beaux-arts à l'Université de Strasbourg en 2012. Il est enseignant et responsable des arts visuels au campus de La Grande Boissière de l'École Internationale de Genève. 
 
Momar Seck utilise la peinture et la sculpture, en se concentrant sur des éléments recyclés tels que le bois, le plastique, l'étain et les tissus trouvés dans les rues de Dakar. Son travail n'est pas simplement la recherche de la beauté ou de la gaieté, mais un engagement dans la société, une façon pour lui de contribuer en tant que citoyen à l'évolution de la société et à la préservation de l'environnement. 

La diversité singulière de chacune de ses créations fonctionne comme une métaphore de la diversité intrinsèque du monde et de l'humanité. Ses "unités plurielles", comme il les appelle, présentent des textures et des couleurs, et le mélange des matériaux symbolise la fragile unité et interdépendance des différentes cultures et cosmologies. Son recours aux matériaux récupérés et leur réutilisation sont conformes à sa vision de “l’artiste en tant que citoyen impliqué" dans la campagne pour recycler, protéger et préserver l'environnement et la faune. Les œuvres de Momar Seck cherchent à immerger le public dans les réalités de la vie quotidienne, y compris les déchets et les débris, tout en évoquant les souvenirs et les traces de leur origine, ainsi que leur métamorphose. Elles reflètent notre existence actuelle, rehaussée par le caractère, la joie et la recréation d'objets de rebut. Les thèmes que l'on retrouve dans son art abordent souvent des questions de société telles que le consumérisme, la communication globale et l'environnement. 
 
Les oeuvres de Momar Seck ont été exposées en Suisse, au Sénégal, au Mali, au Cameroun, en France, en Belgique, en Italie, à Cuba, au Canada, en Tanzanie, aux États-Unis, en Allemagne, au Royaume-Uni et au Nigeria. Il a également participé régulièrement à Dak'Art (Sénégal), à la Biennale de La Havane (Cuba) et au Symposium international d'art de Baie Saint Paul au Québec. 

"Environnement 20" s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'exposition "Art for Social Impact 2020: Languages and Shapes of Michelangelo Pistoletto’s Third Paradise".

Prochains événements

Télécharger le programme de la saison
Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter